Notice: DUI Convictions Cost First Time Washington Violators On Average $8,700

DUI Violations

Receiving a DUI in Washington is a criminal offense. Even if you are not proven guilty in the state court of Washington, you will face a number of penalties, none of which can be classified as small. If you are not convicted, although still proved to have been driving under the influence, your driver's license will be suspended for a period of 90 days. Second, it will be marked for another 60. Then there will be fees for the reissuing of the license ($150) and for the hearing ($200). Finally, the most expensive fine of all comes in the form of SR-22 insurance, which you will be required to have for the next three years.

If your are charged guilty, your penalties include between one day and one year of jail time, between $823 and $5,000 in fines, a 90-day license suspension, SR-22 insurance, one year of ignition interlock and five years of probation.